Go Back   Site Owners Forums - Webmaster Forums > General Arena > General Discussion

Notices

Old 01-15-2018, 07:25 AM   #1
alexalex22

new external drive format issues. Any way to get the data back?

so.
got myself a low end toshiba external portable 500gb hard drive.
plug it in. it works.
decide to do a format - cos my other drives are ntfs, i want this one also. i trigger it, and wait and wait and wait
and nothing is happening so i cancel.
and keep clicking to cancel and eventually it does.

i unplug the drive's usb cord from the drive, wait a bit, plug it in, pc message asks me to format i say yes, put in ntfs and i wait and wait and wait and nothing is happening.

i cancel etc.

hey i never claimed i'm a pc tech.
now after 2 reboots it's plugged in and out and in, i get a message now asking if i want to format i say yes, and eventually i get a message saying

Windows can't format M
Check to see that the disk and drive are connected properly, make sure that the disk is not read-only and then try again. For more information, search Help for read-only files and how to change them.

now i don't know what to do.
the default initially was exFat i'm thinking i should have left well enough alone.

but now i need to try to get it working..

please help
alexalex22 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-11-2018, 06:38 AM   #2
khaleesi

External Hard Drive Recovery on Mac

I know this reply may be late but just in case others would find this handy and helpful later on. If you're using a Mac computer or laptop, then look no further. After watching this video tutorial, you will be able to perform recovery HD Mac in minutes!

This is because the tutorial is newbie friendly; you can easily learn how to recover data even if you aren't a computer technician or even much of a tech-savvy.